Happy Veterans Day

Well, Veterans Day is around the corner and I am posting some pictures of veterans in my family. Last time I was at Denver International Airport I spotted a soldier going into the restaurant I happened to be in. I told the waiter to give me his bill, but not tell him who paid, and tell him “Thanks” for his service. My husband and I watched as we were leaving as the waiter told him his breakfast was paid for and thanked him from an anonymous person. He smiled and was so surprised that it made my heart happy.

There are so many service men and women that have given so much to our country! I was in the Navy during the Vietnam era (yeah, I am old), and I remember how my fellow servicemen came back and were treated like crap. I was so embarrassed at how they were treated, but so very proud of all branches of the military.

There are many reasons why people join the military; I joined because I wanted to do something for my country; even though I was a little worker bee in the Navy; I left with such a great respect for my country and fellow human being. I know it sounds corny but…. I wouldn’t want to live any where else but in the USA.  This is my country, our country, we need to protect it and take care of it…like we would our families!

GOD BLESS AMERICA, GOD BLESS THE MILITARY!

Happy vets day!!!!!

image

Bob Jr., Linda, Rose, Bob sr

My brother, sister, me and my dad.

About whimsicalwanderingsofluvroses99

I love to travel the states and have done a little traveling overseas, not as much as I'd love to. .I LOVE life, life is what you make it, so I enjoy it as much as I can! :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Veterans Day

  1. Thank you and THANKS to your family as well. God bless! When I am out and about I always make a point to shake hands with service men and women, they love that people appreciate them!

    Like

  2. maddmombetty says:

    Thank you for your service. I come from a military family, my parents, grandfather, great-grandfathers on back to the Revolutionary War. My husband also served, and my nephew is now serving. I thank you for your post, and God bless America and her military!

    Like

Leave a Reply

